Trouble Books

I have to say, I am a bit disappointed that I did not get the opportunity to write about Trouble Books for this blog.  They have always been one of my favorite Akron bands (and faves in general).  In fact, they (along with Beast and Goodbye Ohio) are the reason that I became obsessed with Akron music four years ago.  Equal parts twee, pop and noise, they are always a band that I turn to when I need cheering up (or if I’d like to remain un-cheerful).  And they are an amazing sleep aid.  But, they haven’t performed at all in the last few months, so I haven’t had a show to write about.

Fortunately, they have been hard at work on their next release, Zero Annihilation, which the band describes as a “sort of a sleepy, shitty Orchestral Manoeuvres in the Dark tribute recorded in the morning in a dilapidated Frank Lloyd Wright imitation prairie house. Kind of like that My Bloody Valentine cover of the Louis Armstrong song. Or ‘Caramel Prisoner’ by Air all goofed up.”

Millions of people have come and gone in Trouble Books (ok…a slight exaggeration.  But there has been a lot of members), but it appears the band is now down to two: Keith Freund (the only constant member) and Linda (I have never known her last name).  And in honor of their upcoming release, I took the liberty of uploading some of their stuff so you can get better acquainted with them…check it out.

Hey…whadya know?  I got to write about Trouble Books after all.

~ by rickbenedum on 11/21/2009.

Leave a Reply

 
